Drinks, What's Cookin'
Comments 4

Almond Milk Masala Chai

masala chaiIMG_8049

Gloomy days usually take the best of my mood, I can really notice how the absence of sun affects my emotional state.Today was one of those days, the sun shone a bit in the morning and then the clouds came with rain and took up the sky.

This hot almond milk masala chai always works as a pick me up drink in these cold gloomy days. The first times I tried Masala Chai I didn’t like it that much, they always included in the spice mix the only spice that I can say I really have problems with…The cloves. Since then I tried some different spice mixes, along with milk types and this recipe is by far my favourite one.

Serves: 2 to 3 portions

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 liter of almond milk
  • 200 ml of water
  • 4 cinammon sticks
  • 8 cardamom pods
  • 3 star anise
  • a small thumd size piece of ginger
  • 2 bags of black tea (I used PG Tips)
  • 1 tablespoon of honey

Preparation:

In a saucepan add the water, the cinnamon sticks, crushed cardamon pods, star anise, ginger in pieces and bring it to a boil, this way the spices will realease their flavours into the water. After that, turn the heat a bit down, add the black tea, almond milk and the honey. Let everything simmer for 2 to 3 minutes and turn the heat off. Let it sit for a couple more minutes and finally pour your chai into the cups through a fine mesh sieve.

Hope this healthy Chai also works as a pick up beverage for you! Have a not so gloomy day…

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Está bem giro o novo layout! Gostei bastante e esse leite, apesar de eu ser mais menina de sumo, deve ter um aroma fantástico. beijos

Leave a Reply

