Where to eat, Where to eat in Firenze, Where to eat in Italy
Leave a Comment

Panino at ‘Ino – Firenze

IMG_0912

Panino is the Italian word for sandwich.  Whenever I go to Tuscany I can’t help myself to crave a good one. Tuscany is full of good things to feast on, but if I haven’t got the time for a complete and relaxed meal, then it’s the panino that I go for. I also tend to have this tinsy issue, being that I don’t settle for just for the regular panino you get at any train station, ohh… I have to get a good one. This previous week I went to Firenze for some PhD classes, I didn’t have that much spare time and it was screaming hot outside, but that didn’t get in the way of me getting that great panino.

‘Ino was founded by chef Alessandro Frassica which is a recognized panino passionate and a reference in the Italian street food scene. He is also the author of two great panino books, Il Pan’ino and Panini Gourmet, the last one released this year. I had been hearing about this place for a long time, as one of the best places in Italy to have a good panino. I wouldn’t walk quickly through the sizzling hot city full of tourists just for nothing.

IMG_0901

The place is conveniently located between Galleria degli Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio, I expected to see lots of people, but actually this street is an incredibly quiet street given the location. The place is really nice, well decorated, the staff behind the counter serving you are nice and helpful. Alessandro himself will probably be there to prepare your panino. You can choose from a really good selection of classic, vegetarian and more elaborate sandwiches. Usually, less is more, so I chose a simple one with mortadella and pecorino cheese with pistacchi. The bread was warm and crunchy and you could really tell that the ingredients were high quality. The selection of bread served there include only organic flours and natural levitation processes.

IMG_0899IMG_0903

The place was not as full as I expected it to be, which was a good surprise, I easily found a table to enjoy my panino and the nicely illustrated walls.

At the end of the meal Alessandro came to ask how was the panino. I really appreciate the fact that one that has already achieved such recognition, and also some fame in this business, keeps the contact with it and with the people on the daily basis. I too my time to finish the that fresh white ice tea galvanina, shoot the final photos and was on my way back to the not “touristy” part of town.

The prices of each panino range from 5 to 8 euros, which I don’t consider cheap but neither an unfair price, considering the quality of the ingredients that you are getting and the overall experience. It is also the same price that you will find in other good panini places in town.

I really enjoyed ‘Ino both for the panino and the place itself, I will surely return there to try new combinations whenever I get the chance.

Arrivederci!

IMG_0911

IMG_0906

IMG_0914IMG_0921

‘Ino

Firenze
Via dei Georgofili, 3r/7r
Tel. 055219208

 

Leave a Reply

